Cocoa.

I loved a boy who made me forget who I was.

I kept my mouth shut to please him.

Followed his commands.

I grew distant from friends and family.

I almost threw my life away.

I loved that boy but he only loved a version of me.

The obedient, well mannered, quiet version.

I loved that boy so I tried to be a girl he loved.

The problem is, the version of me that he loved was not the best that I could be.

That boy is gone, has been for years.

But part of me still feels a knife in my side.

Every time a man makes me feel small.

Any time a man makes me feel as though my opinions are too bold, too wrong, too direct.

I am too strong to be made to feel as though my voice does not matter.

 

Leave a Reply

